[Bars of the Day] Bitch, Don’t Kill My Vibe x K. Dot

I tried to pick a song that I’m sure you all have played on repeat a couple times already, so Bitch, Don’t Kill My Vibe was the winner (though mine is M.A.A.D. City). This record is so fitting; that song that you throw on when you want to have “me time” and no fucks to give to anything else. I love how Daddy Kenny  introduces the track (end of Sherane A.K.A. Master Splinter’s Daughter); impatiently waiting on his Domino’s, moms couldn’t be just killing the vibe too.

Fell on my face and I woke with a scar
Another mistake living deep in my heart/
Buried on top of my sleeve in a flick
I can admit that it did look like yours/
Why you resent every making of this?
Tell me your purpose is petty again/
But even a small lighter can burn a bridge,
Even a small lighter can burn a bridge/
I can feel the the changes…
 I can feel the new people ‘roun’ me just wanna be famous…/
You can see that my city found me then put me on stages,
 to me that’s amazing
To you that’s a quick check. With all disrespect let me say this…/ 

Kendrick is one stone cold lyricist (and I will fight this to the death; for you people who really say you do not see why others appreciate the sounds of Kendrick. But I’m sleep because I’m getting upset typing this) and I pulled these bars because this is one of many reasons I admire GKMC and somewhat (because I’ve never been to Compton or lived that specific life) understand K. Dot.I’m sure you have seen or experienced yourself living in an area or being surrounded by people who decide to stay stagnant and have no passion for anything else but remaining as such. Or even you were that settling homie that just happened to get the molasses out ya ass. Though being a part of the same environment, some may believe you are “too good” or “selling out” when you just want the best for your situation. Kendrick expresses how he appreciates his trials and tribulations and more appreciative of his blessings that pulled him out of the dark. For those who look at his success as a get-quick money fix, fame and who constantly put down his accomplishments for petty reasons, he’s explaining “I love my life. I’ve gotten far and still soaring. I’m coolin’. Bitch, don’t kill my vibe.

Simple.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

