[Bars of the Day] Money Trees x K. Dot xx Jay Rock

I’ve been waking to this song for some days now and it’s so necessary to be today’s pick. Last night during the last Presidential debate, one of my followers mentioned Mitt Romney saying “you just lost another debate, ya bish” so it was only right I quoted Kendrick ,“A silver spoon I know you come from, ya biishh.” (BTW Please vote, don’t fall into the art of peer pressure when it comes to “not caring” about your future in this country/world because you do count and WILL be affected.) With that being said, here’s los bars:

Hot sauce all in our Top Ramen, ya biiishh (ya biiish)
Parked the car then we start rhymin’, ya biiishh (ya biiish)/
The only thing we had to free our mind (free our mind)
Then freeze that verse when we see dolla signs (see dolla signs)/
You looking like an easy come up, ya biiishh (ya biiish)
A silver spoon I know you come from, ya biiishh (ya biiish)/
And that’s a lifestyle that we never knew
Go at a reverend for the revenue/

Besides me loving every song in the movie, this one gets a lot of repeats. This record is one that screams relative situations in our culture. Hustle by any means necessary. Jay said, “if I need it, imma get it however, God help me.” Banks shouted, “I die for a bill, believe in the dolla’, for the chips, anyone gets it, even Estrada.”  And K. Dot explains it in a song with the most nonchalant, but straight-forward attitude with a hook letting us know a dollar can easily influence a decision.

It go Halle Berry or hallelujah
Pick your poison tell me what you doin?/
Everybody gon’ respect the shooter,
But the one in front of the gun lives forever/
And I been hustlin’ all day, this a way, that a way
Through canals and alleyways, just to say/
Money trees is the perfect place for shade and tha’s just how I feel
A dollar might, just fuck your main bitch that’s just how I feel/
A dollar might, say fuck them niggas that you came with tha’s just how I feel
A dollar might, just make that lane switch tha’s just how I feel/
A dollar might, turn to a million and we all rich tha’s just how I feel

Shouts to DJ Dahi on the beat and Jay Rock‘s verse was cool. Gotta appreciate the way Money Trees explains the motive of the situation in “Art of Peer Pressure.” I am grateful for artist who make all of their music connect and Kendrick is so amazing at telling his story in a way that you must listen to it all to circle back to the connections so it can hit you like, “ohhhhhhh.” (Not saying other artist don’t; if you listen to Kendrick like I do, you know what I mean)  But I mean what do I know? I just live this hip-hop/music shit.

tha’s jus’ how I feel.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

