[Bars of the Day] My President is Black x Jay-Z

It is only necessary that today’s Bars of the Day reflect the most important time of this year. I first would like to thank everyone for voting today and if you haven’t yet (in NYC) you have until 9 PM! I love the excitement from the first time voters who have possibly been waiting for this moment since last election. I can relate because I was able to vote my first year of college and I felt empowered. I remember the voting process and the anticipation I felt while watching the votes tally up and literally crying tears of joy seeing Obama gunning for the win. That night, my campus went bizzerk as did the whole nation.  In the words of the Snowman, I was finally able to say, “My President is black.” 

Now today is the day to put forth the civil responsibility of voting to keep it that way! There has already been so much commotion about the poll sites and machines. Recently a voter videotaped how a poll machine was selecting Mitt Romney instead of Barack Obama (link after the jump). That’s some different type of sketchy, but don’t let that and long lines deter you from voting. As a culture, we are always going to be the odd ones out; the masses do not want to see our culture act together and for  a cause. Whatever happens, do not let any of this discourage you from voting. If you can stand/wait in lines for kicks, tickets, and video games, you should have no problem with awaiting your chance to vote for this election. Don’t give up; if anything that is what everyone against us is praying for.  Your vote does count. Confused about the electoral college? Blaming it on your reason to not vote? You’re on the internet for Twitter 24/7, go research the election process. Do not watch this election in ignorance. If you voted and felt like it didn’t count, at least feel like you did it for those who do not have the opportunity to vote. Have a purpose. Things will get better, once we do better.

Machine turns vote for Obama into one for Romney

Moving along:

My president is black
In fact, he’s half white/
So even in a racist mind he’s half right
So if u have a racist mind you be ‘aight/
My president is black
But his house is all white/
Rosa Parks sat
So Martin Luther could walk/
Martin Luther walked
So Barack Obama could run/
Barack Obama ran
So all the children could fly/
So I’ma spread my wings
So you could meet me in the sky/

What’s so crazy about these lyrics is the majority of our culture does not recognize the trials and tribulations the Black community has gone through. Some are so quick to pull it as evidence of what someone did back back in the day instead of honoring and carrying out the messages and the respect those great African-Americans wholeheartedly fought for. It’s time to stop blaming when you haven’t put the necessary work in. It’s time to stop letting the media persuade our culture into feeling as if multiple partners/babymommas, all gold everything, and making it rain is the one life to live by any means necessary and in the same breathe, please stop spending like you never had a dollar. Stop beating your own people down and having a pride that is destroying the community everyday. Help out. Stop killing each other. Stop complaining. My mother told me some years ago that I am a black, woman in this world; two handicaps I was just born with. However, I am educated and knowing all three, I can succeed in anything. She always tells me, “don’t give up until you have exhausted every possibility.” Our culture is so quick to give up, say “fuck everything”, and not practice what we preach. Please understand, we are always watched. Yes, we all were raised differently as a culture. Some people come from generations of hard working generations that only wanted the best of the best for their kids; culture, morals, values, knowing the way of the world as early as possible. Then there are some who come from generations of struggle in every sense of the word and have no positivity around them. WE know the difference between the “coons’ and the “blacks’ (whatever you’d like to call it), but the world views us all the same.  One color. Waiting for us to be angry, rude, and ignorant. Stop giving society what they want and do betterrrr. Everyone wants to scream, “My president is black,” but doesn’t want to emulate what he represents as a black man. I guess Rick Ross is more matched for your living standards. Ehh. Learn the difference. Just know, these n*ggas won’t hold me back. Trust.

Respect our women. Support our men. Take care of our children. Go vote.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

